I don’t know how to start. I can’t decide if I will do a review of Lemonade or just let the thoughts brew inside my mind until I give justice to this visual masterpiece. As some critics have said, the music won’t stand alone without seeing the film.

Beyonce Lemonade Album Cover

Lemonade is packed with juicy references to afro-diasporic religion, afrofuturism and southern gothic tropes. I especially love the spoken literature of Beyonce and Warsan Shire. The charm of the black and white wide shots of Louisiana and stillness of the south has been captured like fragments of my memories. 

I was intrigued by the trailer when I first saw it on my Facebook news feeds. I won’t let the weird feeling consume me so I searched for it and read what’s this Lemonade all about. I found out that it’s a work of art. Lemonade also showcased the talents of some A-plus directors and cinematographers.

The impression you will get from the trailer is different from what you’ll feel after watching the film. I was impressed by the styles and cinematography of each video. A viewer has to appreciate the words and the rationale behind each shot, not look at it as a freak show! If you are ready to see it, never ever watch it with angst and prejudice because you won’t find the gem hidden inside it. The beauty is in the eye of your intentions.

The following are my most loved parts of the film.

Beyonce Lemonade Louisiana
The Southern stillness and silence
Beyonce Lemonade Screenshot Solo
The interiors and emotions of an emotionless face
Beyonce Lemonade Can You see Me
Can you see me?
Beyonce Lemonade Room on Fire
Burning down the past
Beyonce Lemonade African Jacket Necklace Solo Shot
The aesthetics in this visual album is absolutely stunning
Beyonce Lemonade Jazz Louisiana
Jazz
Beyonce Lemonade Afro Women
I love this wide shot of women by the oak tree with Spanish moss

Beyonce Lemonade Women

Beyonce Lemonade Redemption
All Night. Break of dawn, new day.

Beyoncé Lemonade Tracklist
1. Pray You Catch Me
2. Hold Up
3. Don’t Hurt Yourself featuring Jack White
4. Sorry
5. 6 Inch featuring The Weeknd
6. Daddy Lessons
7. Love Drought
8. Sandcastles
9. Forward featuring James Blake
10. Freedom featuring Kendrick Lamar
11. All Night
12. Formation

Disclaimer: I suppose you are an artist before you judge me or what I wrote . 

2 thoughts on “Beyonce’s Lemonade and My Thirst for Art

  1. No I won’t judge you. Neither will I say anything beyond what you wrote. Not until I have seen what you saw. Still to each her own. Our perceptions are shaped by our lives, by our tears, laughters, by our loves. Thank you for letting us see “Lemonade” through your wandering eyes. Please never cease wandering.

Leave a Reply

