How to Make an Earl Grey Chai As Alternative to Morning Coffee

earl grey masala chai
These items were gifts to me and my husband: Turkish caydanlik from my grandma; cup and saucer from my aunt/uncle; my sister gave us that mat from Thailand; notebook from my personal collection

There are days we are excited for coffee, but today isn’t that day. So I’m doing (a little) different to uplift my mood.

Today’s about ground spices and fragrant flavors! This version of my aromatic masala chai is made from crushed star anise, cinnamon, green cardamom, and nutmeg combined with Earl Grey tea. While Earl Grey tea has surprising health benefits, the citrus aroma of bergamot gives it a unique taste. I know so little about tea but I can distinguish tea leaves. Yes, you are right they don’t taste the same!

Preparing tea is meditative. It’s emptying your head while mixing the spices, boiling the water, and pouring tea. This chai is totally easy to make!

1) You need:

  • tea ball (to keep the spices intact)
  • 1 bag of Earl Grey tea
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1 whole star anise
  • 4 cardamom pods
  • 1 stick of cinnamon or 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • almond milk or creamer
  • 3 tablespoon brown sugar
  • *option nutmeg

2) Grind the star anise, cinnamon, and cardamom. Make sure to pop the cardamom and crush the pods. Put the spices inside the tea ball.

3) Put water, tea bag, tea ball with the spices in a kettle or pot.

4) Boil for about 3 minutes, or until the tea goes very dark.

5) Serve in a cup, add almond milk and sugar to taste.

Tea is best served with pastry. Have you seen my carrot cake pudding? It’s easy to make even with an oven toaster.

Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

