The Language of Light

I could not put the book The Language of Light down yesterday while commuting on my way home. As soon as I got in the door, I dropped my bag on the floor and finished the last few chapters of the book seated comfortably in my dad’s favorite folding chair. I was like watching a soap opera in my head with full of surprises and open endings. After reading through the last pages of the How About Some Questions We Book Club Members Can Answer Ourselves?, I thought of searching the author’s bio pic rather than searching for the photographs referenced in the book. I didn’t know why, but I found myself writing a personal message to her on Facebook! It was my very first time to contact an author just to say I appreciate how the novel moved me.

It started with Hello, Miss Clayton

I have never ever expected a response from an author, but it would be nice if I get one.

Then I got this on my inbox today!

111

“Jade, thank you so much! I miss Maryland too — I wrote much of that novel when I lived there and in the years after I left. It is such beautiful countryside, and the friends we had there were so lovely. I’m so very glad the story moved you. It was my first literary child, and though I have three more now and a forth on the way, it will always hold a special place in my heart.

And it’s a lovely story of how you came to it!

Warmly,
Meg”

It was so kind of her not to ignore a fan mail! This made my day! I am a fan!!! Happy Wednesday, everyone.

The Race for Paris is Meg Waite Clayton’s latest novel. See it here.

Leave a Reply

