“You don’t make a photograph just with a camera. You bring to the act of photography all the pictures you have seen, the books you have read, the music you have heard, the people you have loved.” ―Ansel Adams

black-white-portrait-7

These shots were taken by Juan Carlos. It was his turn to practice his photography skills again. 🙂

I used to pose for JC’s photo projects back in college. I remember we had to go to Hidalgo Street in Quiapo to get our photographs printed. Kodak B/W films cost around 200 pesos ten years ago! (I wonder how much did it cost during my mom’s and grandfather’s time!) I miss that feeling of excitement and frustration when our photos got printed, and that we had to submit our projects the next day. Some were under or over exposed. Sometimes we had to retake everything and spend money again for printing and buying films. Oh, fine arts..how expensive you were! If you went to art school, you know exactly what I meant! But everyday was worth it.

black-white-portrait-3
“I know you can do better..” – Miss Smarty Pants

black-white-portrait-4
This ain’t modeling, okay?
black-white-portrait-6
My favorite photo of me! 🙂

“When you photograph people in color, you photograph their clothes. But when you photograph people in Black and white, you photograph their souls!”

2 thoughts on “Black & White Portraits Part 2

Leave a Reply

