How To Pack an iMac for a Move

Are you moving in to a different state or country? Do you have gadgets you want to ship? Can you pay an extra charge for box insurance? Do you want to save money from paying extra baggage fees and avoid the hassles of going through customs in the airport?

Have you really, really, really thought it through? If your answers are YES, go to a trusted pack and ship company now to help you. 

Okay, no judging here. I considered a lot of options in transporting my precious iMac, but a door-to-door shipping fits my needs. Thank you to our ever reliable courier company, I received my huge loot box in good condition after 3 months. (It takes that long to ship.) No poke holes and very intact.

Since I got a good experience, I am proud to share you my step-by-step DIY iMac packing.

 Step-by-Step Instructions to properly pack a 27″ iMac

Level of difficulty: Medium

Materials: Packing Tape, cargo box, plenty amount of bubble wrap

1
(1) Cover iMac with bubble wrap. Secure it with packing tape.
2
Here shows that when you pack it, the neck area tends to bend forward. You needed to fill it in for support.
4
(2) Roll a bubble wrap.

3

5
(3) Insert wrap in between the screen and neck enough to make it sturdy.
6
It should look like this. I prefer the screen fixed to this angle to support the screen’s weight when packed inside a box along with other items.
9
(4) Place the iMac diagonally inside the box. Fill the corners with bubble wrap to keep it intact. It also prevents the edges from poking through the box.
10
(5) I placed my sketchpad and huge drawing bag in front of the screen to prevent other items damaging it.
11
It also serves as an angle-support.
12
(6) Fun part! Fill up the spaces with I consider soft items such as shoes, clothes, and purses.
13
(7) Keeping the accessories: I prefer to place the accessories and computer all together in a box. (When I lose them, I lose them all. Haha)
14
(8) Put the mouse in a sock.
15
(9) Wrap your keyboard in a scarf.
16
Wrap it in a soft H&M scarf. 🙂
17
(10) Tie your cords.
18
(11) Place mouse, keyboards, and cords in a purse or pouch together.
19
(12) Secure it.
20
(13) Finish it up.
21
(14) Cover the top with bubble wrap. I also packed my plush blanket to cover the computer and other items. It also serves as a “security blanket” literally just in case courier people poke holes on top of the box.
22
(15) Seal the box with love. Get the most durable packing tape. Tape the box vertically, horizontally. Get your mailing address info printed on a paper, tape it on top, front, and back of the box. I also hand write address on the sides. 😛

There you have it. Packing an iMac all by yourself is such an accomplishment. It took me a couple of weeks on planning what to include in my box and researching the most reliable pack & ship in town. These guys helped me get my trust back. 🙂 Be sure to insure your box and get the tracking number to follow the progress of your package.

 

You can always call a nearby Apple Store and see if they can re-pack the iMac for you.

Pack ‘n’ Ship

350 Fortune Terrace Potomac, MD 20854 United States‎

+1 301-217-0938

Apple Watch 38mm Aluminum Case Sport with Black Sport Band

2 comments

  1. thank you for your post. i will need my iMac when i move to NYC. If I package it very securely and then place it inside a packed large rolling suitcase, do you think it will survive the flight and carousel? Maybe a hardshell, rolling type??

    • That’s too risky! I’ve thought about it too, but I rather box it, put ‘Fragile stickers’ on it and check it in, than putting the iMac inside a suitcase. 🤓 I hope these tips would be a big help in deciding!

Leave a Reply

